Jonathan Kolber
1 min readAug 17, 2022

--

Fantastic essay. If I could change one thing about it, I would delete the article "a" from your sentence, "Enjoy whatever it is you do for a living".

You see, while researching my book A Celebration Society, I was striving to discern how we humans can thrive in the face of accelerating automation displacing ever more of us from the workforce. It's an existential question.

Superstars like Yo Yo Ma are a special class of "workers". The most revolutionary thing I realized while studying them is that THEY DO NOT WORK. They play; at games of their choosing or design.

This is as true of self-made billionaires as it is of inventors, scientists, athletes, and (I later learned) even engineers. It is also true of artists.

Like Yo Yo Ma.

They don't worry about making money. They take it as given that they will have plenty of money as a byproduct of winning their preferred game. And then they go on to make far more money than their less dedicated, less passionate, less devoted "competitors".

Herein lies the genius of finding the sweet intersection between one's greatest talents and one's greatest passions.

--

--

Jonathan Kolber

I think about how to create societies of sustainable, technological abundance. My book, A Celebration Society, offers one solution. It has been well received.